What are the PMI offered certification schemes?

PMI currently offers eight (8) certifications:

Project Management Professional (PMP®)
Program Management Professional (PgMP®)
Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP®)
Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM®)
PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP®)
PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP®)
PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA®)
PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP®)

For more information on these certifications, the requirements to sit the examinations, and the examination costs, please go to the Certification page of the PMI global website.


What is the advantage of being certified?

In an increasingly projectized world, PMI professional certification ensures that you’re ready to meet the demands of projects and employers across the globe. 

Developed by practitioners for practitioners, PMI certifications are based on rigorous standards and ongoing research to meet the real-world needs of organizations. With a PMI certification behind your name, you can work in virtually any industry, anywhere in the world, and with any project management methodology. 

PMI designations following your name tell current and potential employers that you have a solid foundation of project management knowledge that can be readily applied in the workplace.


Do I need to be PMI member to get certified?

There is no need to be a PMI member to be eligible for a certification. Anybody who meets the educational and experience requirements and who agrees to adhere to the code of professional conduct is eligible. The price of the certification examinations is nevertheless not the same for members and non-members.


Where will the examination be given?

All PMI exams are offered at approved Pearson VUE Testing Centers worldwide. To find a test centre close to your residence, please search on the relevant Pearson VUE web-page.

Especially for the CAPM certification, you can also take your exam in the comfort of your home or office while being monitored by an offsite proctor through Pearson VUE.


Are the exams available in languages other than English?

The PMP, CAPM, and PMI-ACP exams are translated into multiple languages. Please consult the respective certification handbooks for details on specific languages available.

Other certification exams are not currently translated, but PMI will notify you when translations are available.


What requirements do I need to fulfill to maintain an active certification status?

All PMI certifications, with the exception of CAPM, require that you engage in continuous professional development in order to remain certified. The requirements for each certification can be found within the CCR Handbook.


What is the Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide)?

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) is PMI's flagship publication and is a fundamental resource for effective project management in any industry. It has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management.

The PMBOK® Guide – Sixth Edition and Agile Practice Guide were created to complement each other. Together these two publications are a powerful tool that enable the right approach for the right project.


What are PDUs?

Professional Development Units (PDUs) are one-hour blocks of time that you spend learning, teaching others, or volunteering. By accumulating and tracking these over a three-year period you can maintain your certification status with PMI. 


How can I earn PDUs?

There are two types of professional development units (PDUs) that you can claim towards renewal — Education and Giving Back to the Profession. Under each of these categories are numerous options and, once you’ve satisfied certain educational requirements, the rest is up to you. View how you can earn PDUs and how to align them to the PMI Talent Triangle®.



Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.